Not Choosing is Choosing

On occasion, someone from my contacts will ask me to write something. I received such a request last week; he wanted me to write about some experiences we had shared. Initially, I thought it was a bad idea since I was certain our thoughts on the subject would differ. However, after much consideration, I decided to take it up as a challenge to maintain objectivity. The timing was also right, as I had always wanted to write about the effects of the choices we makeā€”or fail to make.

A few months ago, I made the choice to pick up the pen again and write authentically. In the process, I have created a space for myself where I can express opinions I would not normally share. I have made friends and gained a small following that I am proud of. By making this choice, I am building relationships and potentially creating a valuable resource for future writing endeavors. I encourage you to take a similar leap of faith and see where it leads you. Most likely, it will lead you toward things that are important to you.

I must admit that I haven’t always been proactive in dealing with what life throws at me. Part of it is my genuine curiosity about how things will unfold, but the rest is rooted in avoidance or expert compartmentalization. It’s easier for me to distance myself from people or situations that don’t align with my preferences rather than working to make them better. However, as I enter adulthood, I realize that this approach is not sustainable.

Through my recent encounter, I learned that those who are affected by your choices will often react poorly, especially if they are denied access to you. That’s why it’s crucial to move forward and choose what works best for you, knowing that consequences will follow, and it’s better if they are in your favor. Not everyone will be understanding or democratic in their response to your choices, so be prepared for any backlash that may come your way.

The paradox lies in the fact that we often fail to choose when it comes to the truly significant aspects of our lives. We tolerate workplace ideals that we don’t believe in, maintain relationships with people we care about despite differences, and refrain from speaking out about situations we disagree with. However, there is a distinction between choosing not to engage in an argument because you know it will lead nowhere and failing to speak out because you believe you can live with the situation, albeit reluctantly. By not actively choosing, you subject yourself to consequences beyond your control, which may lead to resentment in the future.

I would like to encourage all of us to be bold in pursuing our own desires. While we naturally champion the causes of others, let us also take up the mantle for our own aspirations. We have been conditioned to settle, especially women, but I dare to suggest that we should be audacious. Life is too short to keep accepting compromises in any form. Explore different opportunities, but be willing to leave when the benefits are no longer in your favor. And if fear is holding you back, take the leap even when you’re afraid. What if your choice makes you a formidable human? Don’t deny yourself the chance to find out.

In my case, this approach has allowed me to sleep peacefully at night. I have also come to understand that any compromises I make in the hope that a situation will work out in my favor should be viewed objectively and with brutal honesty. If, along the way, an acquaintance becomes an adversary or if I lose my edge at life, I believe it is worth it because, in the end, I am accountable to my own conscience. The only burdens I can bear are those that I have created.

#beDesruptive

Leave a comment